Ulf Hellsten

First of all, let me present a picture, since it is now an easy thing for me to do.

Image
A squirrel I mentioned in an earlier post. Notice how he has found a particular spot on the tree where he can perch and stare directly at me for minutes at a time.

Now that that’s out of the way, let me tell you about a package I got from one Ulf Hellsten of Winston Salem, North Carolina.  I have never met Ulf, but I received a package from him yesterday nevertheless. It contained no notes or letter of any kind, only a DVD-R in a case with the hand-written title “ZERO 9/11.” As one might expect, the movie was about the conspiracy theories surrounding the 9/11 attacks.

At first looking at this movie it almost seemed like I wouldn’t be able to play it at all, but eventually I got it to work by switching to a different media player on my computer. Watching it on the DVD, you can see tracking lines like it was originally edited on VHS, and there are brief moments of blue where the film was cut together.  Sometimes the film repeats entire minutes of interviews. Other times to provide emphasis it replays someone’s most important words again immediately after they finish speaking. This makes the documentary seem briefly more like a techno song.

Currently the theory of why this was sent to me is that Mr. Hellsten saw my letter to the editor on Syria and decided that I might be receptive to his film. Because the News and Observer does not publish submitters’ addresses, Ulf probably found my address on my resume, which is posted online. This is my permanent address, which is at the moment my parents’ address, so the video was sent there. I have a return address, so now I just have to decide if it’s worth my time to find an envelope and stamps to mail this guy my email so he can tell me if my theory of why he mailed me this thing in the first place is correct.

8 thoughts on “Ulf Hellsten”

  1. Hmmm. Normally I would suggest that you discontinue all further contact. However, I can see the advantage of letting him know you live somewhere other than where I live.

  2. Mr. Hellsten sent me the DVD and a brochure, as well, just this week. The N&O published a letter of mine two or three weeks ago. So yes, Sam, your theory now has two known cases to support it. Oh, and it would seem that he’s moved to Wilmington, N.C., since last year.

  3. I also received a package with DVD from Mr. Hellsten in January of this year. I occasionally have a letter to the editor in the N&O. I’ve never written a letter about 911, so I’m not sure why he would send me this DVD. Maybe he thinks whoever is writing opinion letters, might be inclined to write one about the information in the DVD.

    Here’s one letter to editor I wrote in May of 2013…

    Public hangings: what would Jesus do?

    We read that State Rep. Pittman (R-Cabarrus) has a divinity degree, attends a Monday night Bible study, a Tuesday morning prayer group, and a Wednesday chapel service. We also read that he favors public hanging for murderers. He also co-sponsored a resolution asserting North Carolina’s right to declare a State religion. Since he is such a proponent and expert on Christianity, I have one question for him: what would Jesus do? For some reason, I don’t think The Prince of Peace would be in favor of public hangings for murderers. After all, He knows first-hand what’s it like to be executed in public. According to the Bible (that Rep. Pittman reads), Jesus said, “Whatever you do unto the least of these, you do unto me.” The Representative’s behavior reminds me of the following Bible quote, “They will hold to the outward form of our religion, but reject its real power.”

    -Michael Lindsay

  4. Got my little package from Ulf today, January 24, 2015. I have had numerous letters to the editor published in the N&O, the latest this past week. Two DVDs, both pertaining to 9/11 conspiracy. I have no idea how he got my mailing address. It did creep me out a bit.

  5. Hi All,

    Today my DVD from Ulf came today. I too write occasional letters to the N&O which again seems to be the source of Ulf’s list of available “accomplices in attitude.” I have not played the DVD yet. Might try on the DVD player. Often the tone of my letters to the paper are various comments expressing disappointment with politicians on both sides of the aisle on how they seem to serve the interests of lobbyists, corporations and donors and not the general public who elected them.

  6. Has anyone made contact with this guy? I got a DVD today, same situation, except it’s on the Kennedy assassination. I work at a college paper but I’ve never written on the subject, so I’m really curious as to why I received it.

  7. I recieved a dvd from him last week. I still havent watched it and do not post anything online. Dont know why i received it.

Leave a Reply

