Whatever I Say

I often get mixed feedback when I attempt to discuss my work on this blog. Sometimes someone will praise my knowledge and communication skills, but other times people will say something along the lines of “this post was incomprehensible jargon, but nevertheless surprisingly pleasant to read.” Notice how nice my commenters have been thus far. That’s because they’ve pretty much all been relatives and close friends. WordPress on the other hand automatically recommends my blog to strangers based on automatic guesses of similar interests. I’ve already gotten a follower whom I’ve never met. Hi, “Opinionated Man!”

This changes the game. I figure with just one post a week I should be able to make them consistently interesting and comprehensible, at least to the people who self-select to be in my audience. As the most interesting thing I do these days is my research (It really is very interesting if I can get anyone to understand it), I may begin to discuss more technical topics. I could also discuss more food topics, since that’s another sometimes relatively interesting thing I do and could write about. While food is more inherently relatable, the communication of science to non-scientists is something I find particularly inspiring.

Not making any promises. This blog, as I like to say, is about whatever I say it’s about, so maybe next week it’ll be a description of my proliferation of ways to eat a single batch of bean soup, maybe it’ll be an approachable explanation of neural networks, or maybe I’ll just say something about my grandmother’s eightieth birthday and relate an anecdote from my Thanksgiving trip to Maine. It’ll have to be an interesting anecdote, though.

3 thoughts on “Whatever I Say”

Leave a Reply

