The Secret to Business Casual (Featuring: Batman!)

Rainbow-Batman
Batman understands business casual

It’s 9:00 AM. I’m in the Chicago O’hare airport heading to a conference, and I keep getting looks. No matter where I am, people walking by glance my way. I’m thinking it might be my solid purple, slightly shiny button-down shirt that fewer than twelve hours ago was not part of my wardrobe at all. This describes as much as half the clothing in my pack.

Ok, let’s rewind to twelve hours ago: It was 9:00 PM Saturday night, and I was putting together my clothes for the trip. I briefly wondered whether my clothes were sufficiently professional, so I knocked on my roommate Nate’s door. Nate looked briefly at my clothes, pointed at a red plaid button-down and said “this one is appropriate.” I looked at it and asked if anyone would notice that the shirt pocket was starting to detach at the top. Nate looked again, thought, and declared that none of my shirts are appropriate for a business casual gathering. “Uh,” I say, but Nate is already onto the next thought. “We need to go shopping. When do you leave? Next week?”
Minutes later we were at Kohl’s, the only place open that late. Nate told me to expect to pay upwards of $500.  “Heck, no.” was the first though that came to my mind. “Yeah, sure,” was what I said. Pleased with my resounding agreement, Nate left me at a belt rack and  came back with a Kohl’s associate. One tape measurer, five shirts, three pairs of pants and two blazers later, I was in a dressing room.

The Kohl’s associate told me all I needed to do was mix dark and light – if I had a dark blazer and dark undershirt, I wore light pants; light pants, light blazer, dark undershirt. Boom, business casual and style. Magic. Apparently this applies not only to normal, blue, grey and brown shirts, but to a veritable rainbow of shirts, ranging from purple to orange. In fact, after I got three blue shirts, Nate and the associate started warning me against more blue. Apparently if you wear the same color multiple days in a row, people notice and get weirded out. This, as it was explained to me, would be a big deal regarding my success in this conference and my career in general.For this reason it was also important that I buy not only the blazer that was eighty percent off, but another light blazer at the full price, $200.

I didn’t buy the second blazer. After over half-off overall in discounts I spent $400 on my new wardrobe. Nate for his part was astounded that I managed not to break $500. Now I have a dark grey blazer, a purple shirt, an orange shirt, two green shirts, and three blue shirts, all of which, if I wear them right, will be business casual. Nate says I will be “lookin’ sharp” as well, although I’m no judge of that. Unfortunately, I’m morally opposed to selfies, so you’ll have to take this picture as a rough approximation of what I look like:

tumblr_ljs64eQZL91qj69rjo1_400
Just add a dark blazer and Pow! Biff! Business casual!

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Secret to Business Casual (Featuring: Batman!)”

  1. Awesome!
    Your PhD is now in the bag.
    Love, Dad,

    who is currently at work in a plaid shirt bought 15 years ago at a thrift store and some blue jeans with a splendid little raggedy hole at the knee. This is called business sub-casual.

  2. Right down to the socks, my friend. Shoes, belt(s) slacks, shirts and jacket — and even light and dark socks. It’s an investment that will certainly pay off. And yes, I’m absolutely astounded you saved $479 off $883 retail!

  3. Sam, I love your blog. Your Dad also came to meeting today with a hole
    in his blue jeans. I t reminded me of Grandpa’s Mother. She used to patch the patches. When Phil Smith came to our house with holes in his
    jeans, Grandpa’s Mom asked if he liked to dress that way or had to.

  4. I like Tom’s style, and I’m going to tell my mom about it so she will stop thinking I need to get new clothes. :)

    Seriously, you did good, but boy do I not look forward to having to upgrade my own wardrobe. :P

Leave a Reply

