Sam’s Blog Classic: Wolfman

This is a re-post from August 21st, 2011. At this time I had just moved in to North Carolina State University.mypicture

So, I get to NC State, and move into Wolf Village on Wolf Village Way. A statue of a wolf greets me at the door. From Wolf Village I take the Wolfline bus and pick up some Wolfpack T-shirts for my parents. After I get back I need to print an employment eligibility form, so I go down to the computing center and log on to WolfPrint (through the WolfNet service) and attempt to print my document, but a picture of an anthropomorphic wolf with empty pockets informs me that I need to bump up my print quota. Unfortunately, it’s unwise to give credit card information on a public computer, so I have to take my Wolfmobile back to my Wolfcave. Shimmying down the wolfpole I find my wallet next to my wolferang and a few cans of wolf-Shark repellent. All this going back and forth was making me hungry, so as I drove the Wolfmobile back to the computing lab I wolfed down a bag of wolf wolfs and also wolfed the wolf wolf wolf all the way to wolf wolf wolf wolf wolf. Wolf wolf wolf wolf wolf wolf wolf-wolf, wolf wolf wolf. Wolf.

I have now written the word “Wolf” enough that it no longer looks like a real word to me. This is called Jamais Vu, the sense that a familiar experience is somehow unfamiliar. It is the opposite of the more well-known Deja Vu. Presque Vu is the term for something on the tip of one’s tongue that one just barely can’t remember. Of the three it’s the easiest to work into normal conversation, I’ve found.

Anyway, my roommates are really chill, and have presented no issues that have significantly impacted my ability to sleep. I am already feeling really busy, even though I have hardly done anything yet, so I’m not entirely certain what that portends. Mostly I expect I just have to finish getting settled and I’ll be fine.

Comments:

8/22/11
You are so awesome.

Love,
Dad

8/25/11
While en wolf route, I recommend several stops: the home of Little Red Riding Hood’s grandmother, the homes of the three little pigs, and that pond (over there!) with the duck in it. This will save you a few wolf bucks because you won’t need to buy as many bags of wolf wolfs. Cheers, Canis Lupis
8/25/11
Who is Canis Lupis???
I must know!
8/25/11
That was me, Sam, by the way.
Leave a Reply

