Tall Tales

I have a reputation for being honest. People who know me well will sometimes give one exception when describing my honesty. I like to tell “Sam stories.” I don’t like to seriously deceive people, so my rule for telling stories is to slowly increase the silliness of the story until the person I’m talking to asks if it’s true, and then I clearly enumerate what parts of my tale were factual and what parts were made up.

With this rule in hand, I can without guilt try to convince people of such things as Danaerys Targaryen being completely CG and only voice acted (in fact she is played by Emelia Clark who shows up regularly on talk shows), me installing a chin up bar in a doorway in my home and pulling down the ceiling, and Gary Gygax’s Dungeons & Dragons being the inspiration for the modern game of chess. Last April Fools I got a friend involved to convince my girlfriend that he had taken a job in a made-up country. He abruptly gave up the charade halfway through, and she said that she was mad that we had tricked her. She agreed that she would not have been mad if the charade had continued to get sillier and sillier until she figured it out on her own.

I am also a big fan of the following prank:

Some people think this is mean, but I don’t understand why. If this happened to me, I would be overjoyed to have the opportunity to get to briefly think the city I was in was being hit by a giant meteorite without actually having to then live through the actual horror and suffering. If people didn’t like that thrill why would anyone watch a disaster movie?

So, I’m in favor of briefly giving someone the impression of a false reality for fun.

Leave a Reply

