No Chop Chop

My partner demands a diet high in vegetables. The problem is that vegetables take a long time to prepare. It has taken me a long time to figure out what was the main factor, but really it was obvious all along. Chopping vegetables is slow, laborious work.

Well, let me tell you something. What would you say if I’ve figured out how to prepare two vegetables with no chopping whatsoever? Impossible? No.

1. Slow Cooker Sweet Potatoes

When roasting sweet potatoes they require puncturing with a fork and may easily be undercooked, especially if they are large. Not so in the slow cooker! Just wash them, add some oil and drop them in! Seven hours at low should do the trick! Throw in some garlic or something to soak up all the sweet juices that will pool at the bottom.

http://www.familyfreshmeals.com/2015/01/how-to-make-crockpot-sweet-potatoes.html

2. Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I bought a box of Brussels sprouts. That’s about 12 pounds of Brussels sprouts. I washed them, oiled, salted, and peppered them, and roasted them in three batches. The little stems were no issue and they did not require bisecting. 30 minutes at 350 degrees in the oven was all each batch required. This was one of three big bowls I filled. I piled a plate so high even Alice couldn’t finish it all.

IMG_20170212_203156599.jpg

I did chop a few vegetables this weekend for a tofu dish, but I must say that having these no-chop options really sped my cooking duties along.

Cover image credit: https://www.9010nutrition.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/NO-CHOP-RECIPES.jpg

4 thoughts on “No Chop Chop”

  1. I enjoy chopping vegetables. However, I have noticed that many grocery stored now sell pre-peeled/chopped vegetable options – even pre-spiralized vegetables. Have you thought of trying those?

  2. I don’t like paying a premium for pre-chopped vegetables either if I can help it. I should keep that option in mind though when I want to make gourmet food without spending so much time.

Leave a Reply

